Contact

contact

Tonight was about images of God. When it came my turn to choose a picture to discuss, the one I wanted (crazy old man with flowers in hat) had already been taken.  “Well,” I thought, “there’s something else here for me.”

It was two boys sitting at a desk in a somewhat dalapidated school, undoubtedly taken in a developing country.  One had an arm around the other.

“I chose this one because as a teacher, I really enjoy seeing students nurture each other.  It’s not so much that one or the other of the boys is the image of God, but it’s what happens between them that brings about the mystical presence of the Divine.”

As the words left my mouth, I knew what it was I really longed for, and was resisting.

What is there to be so afraid of?  What do we have to lose?

Joni Mitchell Live At The Carnegie Hall 1972 the circle game

We can’t return we can only look
Behind from where we came
And go round and round and round
In the circle game

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Meditation, music, Photography, spirituality

Leave a Reply

