Surprises from the Sea

We just got back from a great dinner with my Mom, Dad and brother David.  All I have to say about that is that my mother can cook!

…and collect.  Yes, lot’s of beautiful things everywhere, including a precious gift from a friend.  A Dale Chihuly globe, retrieved from the ocean, about the size of a grapefruit.  Beautiful, isn’t it?

chihuly globe

Evidently Chihuly released a bunch of these in the ocean, and some lucky folks found some of them!  One such person just happened to be a friend of my mother.

It just goes to show that there are all sorts of surprises in life.  What shining beautiful surprise will emerge out of your vast ocean?  Think on that…

Mom, Dad, Gracie, Sarah, S.B., Anthony, David

Mom, Dad, Gracie, Sarah, S.B., Anthony, David

I love the imperfections in my portrait.  Try as I might to get the angle right, things are still a bit crooked.  I’m a little out of focus in the back row, in case you didn’t notice, and Gracie and Sarah decided to not cooperate, and turned away at just the wrong time.  My father is not smiling (oh well!), but my brother is (big surprise!).  Notice the photo in the corner?  My great-grandparents’ wedding portrait.  Don’t ask me what year it was taken, but they are long gone, and she was 15 on her wedding day.  Imagine!  I’m sure that she had no idea what she was about to face in the years ahead.

So, enjoy the picture, imperfections and all, because it is what it is.

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: creative stuff, Life, Meditation, Photography, spirituality

Leave a Reply

