Happy Birthday, Strange Bird!

strange bird birthday

Strange Bird is one year old today!  Yup, we had a cake, lit the candle, sang and everything!  Exactly one year ago today, I wrote my very first post.  What an amazing year it’s been.

I owe some very special thanks to some people who were a lot of help to me around the time of Strange Bird’s inception:

Alan Whitton–you were the one who inspired me to start writing in the first place!  Who would have known…

Bridget McKenna–for all those lovely, supportive emails, at a time when I was going through some of the most difficult stuff.

Rubin Battino–I will always be grateful for the guidance you have given me.

Michael Watson–for calling me, and giving me some support when I needed it.

Anthony–how could I have made it through what I did without you?

And tonight, I finally received a gift of a strange bird for the birthday of Strange Bird–a hummingbird!

hummer flight

hummer flightb

hummer flightc

hummer resting

Of course, true to the theme of Strange Bird, it occurred where we weren’t looking for it–not in the gardens at Schiller Park, but in German Village’s lovely little pocket park–Frank Fetch, flitting around the honeysuckle pergola, from one blossom to another, and then finally coming to rest.

That’s right.

Is this Strange Bird done?  Absolutely not?  Is he where he needs to be?  For, now, right now, yes.  Is that a good thing?  It’s a very good thing.

Frostie Dancing To Shake Your Tail Feather!

Party with me!

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: creative stuff, Life, Meditation, music, Photography

3 Comments on “Happy Birthday, Strange Bird!”

  1. The Juicer Says:

    Congratulations on a wonderful year Strange Bird!! And your capturing the humming bird today- this is really serendipitous!!
    Makes me smile.

  2. Chicky Says:

    HAPPY BIRFDAY! Thanks for your blog, SB. I really appreciate all your thoughtfulness and beautiful photos.

  3. Alan Whitton Says:

    Phil, you’re welcome buddy.

    Clearly my unconscious mind knew your unconscious mind, would benefit from casting a wordstream into the ether.

    And here you are. The mid stream jetty is faring well against the current, and maybe just *sometimes* the current sees the jetty as part of itself.

    OK that’s all I can muster without profanity.
    I knew I could do it!

    Oh bollocks.


Leave a Reply

