Looking At the Future in Schiller Park

Tonight I was busy as usual, taking pictures of things.

steeple

red hot poker

astilbe

Then someone shook me out of my world.

“That’s a nice camera you’ve got there.”

I looked up, and there she was, with her entourage.

“You have your hands full there!”

“Think so?  I have seven!  Only six of them are with me here in the park.”

We talked a little bit.  She said,

“You’re like my husband.  He loves to take pictures of ‘stuff.’  I’m more interested in people.”

“Well, actually, would you mind if I took your picture?”

mom

While I went to work with the camera, she and Anthony had a pleasant exchange about Italy and France, and who knows what else.  I had fun with the children.  I could never get more than four of them in the viewfinder at a time, and one of them I didn’t get at all.

sisters

looking up

I thought, “how wonderful.  Here is a mother, having a pleasant evening in the park with her children.  Everyone seemed content–nobody bickering or whining (who knows, maybe I missed out on that earlier!).”  The girls were more than happy to share biographical information about their pet collection, and they seemed to be naturals with the camera.  After a while, the mother and I compared notes about camera models, and then we all parted ways.

“Well,” Anthony said, “you can’t have seven children these days without having a sense of hope.”

I thought about it for a while, and decided that might be true.  I also thought,

“The children themselves ARE hope.”

J’espere

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, creative stuff, Life, Meditation, music, Photography, spirituality

Leave a Reply

