The Power (and limitation) of Unlimited Choice

Shhhhh…Strange Bird is up to his neck in really good reading material…

books

This is the problem that comes from having an excellent public library, and the ability to buy used books on Amazon!

About a week ago, someone said to me,

“I see your position in life as that of the artist, with unlimited possibilities before you, not sure of what to choose…and I see mine as the philosopher, who seeks to help you narrow down the choices to what is salient.”

Boy, was that ever a true statement!  It reminds me of my friend Andy, an NLP Coach/Trainer in England who once told the story about the two puppies playing tug of war in the back yard, and how they kept spinning around and around and around, until they became something else…

So, in order to see what is most salient in this stack of books, a word or two about each one:

Zen Therapy–well, it’s an interesting concept.  It’s not quite the same as Thich Nhat Hanh’s Mindfulness Training, which goes a long way with me, but has some interesting ideas.

Cave Canem–The meanings of catchy latin words or phrases that are still used by sophisticated linguists these days.  Makes me think of a friend of Anthony’s from grad school who spoke conversational Latin on a regular basis, and would enter a room saying, “Salve!”

Ordeal Therapy–Seriously, what therapy isn’t?  Nevertheless, this book ranks high with me.  One of the greatest family therapists of all time, Jay Haley.  He studied with my hero, Dr. Milton Erickson.  This book ranks high.

Mind Wide Open–Too early to tell.  Brain stuff.  Maybe, maybe not.  The fact that it is currently not available on Amazon should tell me to read it!

Welcome To Your Brain–Slightly more compelling than above book.

Canon Digital Rebel XTI for Dummies–I’m no dummy.  Why did I think I needed this book?

Write Is A Verb–So is READ.  I should get to work!  I finished two other books by Bill O’Hanlon, both excellent.  Creator of Solution-Based Therapy.  Very good stuff.  Lots of overlap with my hero.

On Becoming a Person–I went through a brief phase of being fascinated with the work of Carl Rogers.  I’m still interested, but not as fascinated, so maybe this can go until another time.

The Holy Longing–I’ve had this for a long time, and every time I look at it…well, I don’t get the longing.  I’m sure it’s really good.  I’d say it’s still in the running…but I wouldn’t be telling the truth!

The Perfect Wrong Note–If I were to put a book in the “you should really read this book, being a music teacher” category, this would be it.  I’m not so keen on shoulds these days, though, so maybe, maybe not.

The Places That Scare You–Can’t go wrong with Pema.  She’s so down to earth, and tells it like it is for us westerners.  I think I am giving this one strong consideration, even though I’ve had it in the stack for a while.

The Carl Rogers Reader–see above comment about Carl Rogers.  I’m sure if I gave it a chance, I’d find some good things here.

Well, that helps to narrow it down a little!

Marian the Librarian (with apologies to my sister)

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, creative stuff, education, health, Life, Meditation, music, Photography, religion, spirituality, teaching, writing

One Comment on “The Power (and limitation) of Unlimited Choice”


  1. Phil – Glad to be on your reading list. Keep reading. I plan to check out a few of those titles. -Bill O’Hanlon


Leave a Reply

