Turning Fear Into Compassion

of interest to the bees

of interest to the bees

Wednesday I always have first recess duty with the kindergarten and first graders.  Yesterday was no exception.

One little five year old boy came rushing up to me, and said, “Mr. Adams, there’s a bee, and I’m afraid!  He might sting me, and I’m allergic to bees!”

“Well let’s just go have a look at this bee.”

There was this poor bee in the middle of a sea of asphalt, struggling around in a circle obviously lost and possibly injured.  I simply plopped myself down on the pavement, and was soon surrounded by a cluster of children.

“Mr. Adams, that bee is going to sting us!”

“No, he won’t, bees only sting if they feel threatened.  As long as we don’t threaten him, he will leave us alone.  You know, bees are very helpful, as they pollinate all the flowers, and they make honey that we like to eat.  And he’s a living creature, just like us.”

“Maybe he’s looking for something to eat.”

“Bees eat nectar from flowers.”

Before I knew it, that little bee was surrounded with a ring of dandelion heads.  He didn’t seem to interested in them, but the children were fascinated.  And the boy who was allergic? Well, not so afraid any more.

“Come on, let’s go play Duck Duck Goose!”

And we did.

Flight of the Bumblebee

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, Meditation, music, spirituality

One Comment on “Turning Fear Into Compassion”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    What masterful, nimble musicians!! I love that piece. My name, Deborah, means BEE. And, as my teacher taught me, bees are just
    looking for what their hives needs. Aren’t we all?? Looking for what
    the hive needs. Peace all ways — Deborah


Leave a Reply

