Where does it come from?

Here are two very different views of Westgate park from today’s brief excursion during lunch:

blue skies, smilin' at me

blue skies, smilin' at me

misty view is pleasant too

a misty view is pleasant too

I wasn’t out of the car for very long!  Even though the sun was shining, the air was quite chilly!

More than one person has complimented my skills in photography recently, and I have to say, first of all, thank you.  Secondly, I really don’t think too much about what I’m doing when I take a picture–I just look around me, and notice interesting things all the time. That viewfinder becomes a way for me to be aware of the world.  It’s very much like what the words of a good friend, or a therapist, or teacher can do, in helping one shift one’s perspective, and see something in a new way.  With the photography, it’s all about paying attention to something to the exclusion of other things.  As I continue to read, and learn more about Gestalt therapy, I have a greater understanding of this principle, and am more aware of how those things that one has the greatest need to complete are the things that come to the forefront, and those are the things it’s time to pay attention to.

But back to photography…where does it come from? Recently my sister reminded me of all of the unconscious learning I received through my maternal grandfather, who was an excellent photographer.  He did a lot of architectural photography, and working in the loop in Chicago every day, he certainly had plenty to inspire him!  I guess some of that work he did with me stuck, even though he really gave me no formal instruction per se. He did go to the trouble to take me with my father to Chicago, where he helped me select my first camera–a twin lens reflex.  I have no idea what happened to that camera.  Now I wish I had it.

And now I recognize that he is still with me more than I realized.  Thanks, Grandpa!

Debussy–Cloches à travers les feuilles (Bells Through the Leaves)

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, Meditation, music, Photography, spirituality

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

