Tools of the Trade

img_3786

Fritz Perls was a very interesting man!  He claimed that in his work as a Gestalt therapist, he used six implements in order to function:

his skill

kleenex

the hot seat

the empty chair

cigarettes

ashtray

someone who is willing to stay in the now and work

That’s an interesting list, isn’t it?

Rumor has it that I have a colleague who says she can teach all day with just a piece of paper.  I believe it, because I have said before, “give me a piece of chalk, an eraser and a chalkboard, and I’m all set.” Yes, I’m one of those teachers.  Old-fashioned, I know, and chalkboards are going the way of the dinosaur with the advent of dry erase.  Anyway, back to the point:

What are the tools of your trade?

What are the parts that are most essential?

What tools help you do your work?

What tools do you have lying around, that seem to do little more than take up space, and what would happen if you just decided to give them away?

So, here goes.  Tools that I need to do the work now:

openness to new ideas

patience with myself and others

tenacity

awareness

honesty

courage

That’s my short list for now.  I’m sure at some point I’ll find it necessary to pull out something else to get the job done, but for now, I think I can do quite a bit with these.

Winter Wind Etude

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, Meditation, music, spirituality

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Tools of the Trade”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    Thanks for the wonderful entry. Yesterday was my father’s birthday. He gave me the one tool that has made my life rich beyond measure — a sense of humor. Love and peace to all — Deborah

  2. John Peters Says:

    Patience

    Resolve

    Attitude

    Yearning

    Empathy

    Rhythm


Leave a Reply

