Slippery Paths

Watch your step!

Watch your step!

First of all, kindly remember that I’m a Strange Bird!

By now the rest of the world is pretty much done with Christmas.  Tonight, my choir really celebrated it! I was completely in my element with them, and they sang exquisitely.  I cannot imagine it getting any better than that.  We did a traditional service of Lessons and Carols (a la King’s College Choir), with nine readings, and carols in between, some sung by the choir and congregation, some sung by choir alone.  And, perhaps my favorite thing that the choir sang tonight:

Salvation is Created

So, did you know that today was the last day of the Christmas season?  That’s right.  It was the feast of the Baptism of the Lord.

My favorite reading tonight was from Isaiah, 11:8…

“The baby shall play by the cobra’s den, and the child lay his hand on the adder’s lair.”

I thought about it in a new way tonight, as I heard the lector proclaim those familiar words.

Innocence cannot be harmed by evil.  That is the day of the Lord.  And even though the innocent may tread on dangerous territory, no harm will come.

It gave me a sense of relief, that even though I touch upon those moments of painful sadness, they will not destroy me.  I can choose to observe them, and know that they are not me, and I am safe.

Lux Aurumque (Whitacre)–King’s College Choir

Be well, and at peace,

Phil


Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, Meditation, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

