Waiting For Snow

Desktop Shrine

What's it all about?

(portable enough to fit in a pocket!)

Tonight we are waiting for snow.  Perhaps it will be the first big snow of the season.  This anticipation even affects our choices today–Anthony made a run to the grocery this afternoon, just in case we can’t get out in the morning.  I’m wondering if I’ll be able to make it to my noon appointment tomorrow.  We’re reflecting on plans for dinner tomorrow night, which originally were focused around a staff dinner party, but may result in a quiet evening at home.

All of this for something completely fabricated in the minds of humans!

Now don’t get me wrong–I think that by and large, a lot of the people who are predicting the weather do a reasonably good job, and I certainly appreciate their efforts to help us plan our weekend.  One might just wonder, however, how valuable it is, sometimes, spending all of this time in speculation. Now, there’s a word! I love to take words and think about their origins.  It makes communication so much more rich, doesn’t it?

There are a broad range of definitions, but the one that catches my eye the most is:

“Reasoning based on inconclusive evidence; conjecture or supposition.”

In other words, “I don’t know.  It’s my best guess.”

Is there really anything wrong with the best guess, as long as we admit it’s the best guess?

Here’s a notion for you:

Agnosticism

Just let that churn around inside for a while, and see what you think…

…maybe you’ll realize that deep down, “we just don’t know,” and there’s nothing wrong with that. In some ways, maybe it requires more faith to be agnostic than not.  How paradoxical!  After all, isn’t the I don’t know what faith is all about?

I Don’t Know a Thing

…and I’m good with that.

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, Meditation, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

