Watch your step!

The feet, after my long workout of a day!

The feet, after my long workout of a day!

Tonight as I was leaving Blue Heron Sangha, I noticed a large round yellow sign on the window of a door at the bottom of a basement stairwell of Mohun Hall.

“Watch your step!”

That pretty much summed it up for me this evening.

We had a substitute yoga instructor tonight, who was very good, but very energetic and athletic (not that Beaker isn’t!).  By the end of an hour, I was quite sore, and felt like a pretzel that was long overdue to come out of the factory!

Meditation and dharma tonight was good, and predictable.  The teaching was a recording of Thich Nhat Hanh speaking on compassionate listening.  I was so thrilled to hear him addressing mental health care workers, suggesting that focusing on the goodness in the patient’s body could go a long way in helping healing.

Walking meditation is often powerful for me.  Beforehand, our leader read a passage for reflection beforehand, that included two simple words, in regards to successfully staying mindful and peaceful during walking meditation:

“Anyone can.”

It’s just a step.  And a breath.  And stay with it.  And if your mind drifts (as it does), just return.

And listen compassionately to your body.  What is going on?  What are the messages that you need to hear?

Right now, mine is saying that it is time to rest in bed!

There is so much more that I would like to write tonight, especially about a wonderful book that I’m reading, recommended by both John Baker and Jonathan Baker, both who work as hypnotherapists in England, and both who post on NLP Connections. Oh, yes, they are both musicians too!  Anyway, the book is by Stephen Wolinsky, and is titled Trances People Live. More about that later!  Now is time for some shut eye…

and I will leave you with…

Kermit the Frog–Happy Feet!

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, Meditation, music, religion, spirituality, yoga

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Watch your step!”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    I ordered the book today! As a person who believes we are all in a trance of our own making, I’m eager to read what this author has to say. My trance of choice today is from A Course in Miracles and is
    “God is but Love, and therefore so am I.” Peace to all – Deborah


Leave a Reply

