Light and Darkness

img_2966

Tonight, I participated in a discussion of light and darkness, focused on the meaning of Advent. One of the persons I was having the discussion with tended to focus on darkness. Someone else in the group said, “I think we are ALL in darkness, it’s just a matter of whether or not we realize it.” It was at that point that I decided a question was in order.

“Do we have to be in darkness?”

At home, we are reading Advent and Christmas with Thomas Merton. I cannot recommend it enough! Tonight’s scripture reading from Isaiah is one of my favorites for Advent. “Arise, shine; for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you.”

Are we to be focused on the darkness, or perhaps might we look to the coming light? I’m not denying the darkness, I’m just saying that maybe what we focus on is what we tend to become.

Last night at Blue Heron Sangha, we sang a lovely song that sums it up. I will teach it to you (sort of). Actually, I will give you a recipe for some Advent nourishment!

1) Learn the following tune (these girls from the Czech Republic sing it sweetly!): Infant Holy

2) Notice that this tune is in triple meter. Now, put the tune in quadruple meter (4/4 time).

3) Add these words:

I have arrived, I am home In the here and in the now (sing twice)

I am solid, I am free (sing twice)

In the ultimate I dwell (sing twice)

If you can’t seem to figure out how that works, call me up, skype me, or email me, and I will sing it for you.

(It was really funny, how when we were singing the song at Sangha, I could not for the life of me place that tune until the drive home!)

Now, take that song, and make it your meditation. Sing it sitting, walking, driving, dishwashing…or something else…

…and recognize the light here and now.

Be well, and at peace,

Phil


Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

