On a Quest for the Illusive Light

This afternoon I had a little change in plans, and so was out running some unexpected errands. When I was finally ready to head back home, I gave Anthony a call. “We should take a walk when you get home,” he said. “The sun is shining, and it’s a beautiful day!” So, we did.

img_2931img_2932img_29342img_2935img_2936img_2939img_2943img_2944img_2949img_2952img_2953img_2954img_2956

Did I find the illusive light today? I don’t know.

I still have lots of questions about what I was able to find on my long journey this week, as that journey seemed to generate more questions than answers. Funny, when I’m the teacher, and doing that, it seems well and good. Now I feel unsure!

Have you ever had a situation in which you were under the illusion that you were talking to one person, and discovered that it was a completely different person the whole time? You will like this story!

This morning I was on facebook, checking out all the antics of my “friends.” Jon Baker was online, so I thought I would chat with him. We had quite a lengthy conversation, and I thought parts of it were strange, but I chalked it up to the possibility that one’s mood can vary (mine does, in case you haven’t noticed). Anyway, a key piece of information at the end of the conversation alerted me to the fact that I was not talking to who I thought I was talking to!

Evidently there are two chaps named Jon/John Baker who post on NLP Connections. They are both professional hypnotists/therapists, and both live in England. Now what is the statistical likelihood of that happening, you can wonder? Oh, and by the way, to further complicate matters, they are both musicians!

Well, Jonathan Baker and I got a good laugh (I think he was laughing–it’s hard to calibrate such things in a text chat!). John Baker doesn’t know yet. I wonder what will happen when he finds out?

So Strange Bird gets a lesson in maps and territories!

Just remember, things aren’t always what they seem to be…and all around us are trances and illusions taking place. Some people have been in those trances for a very long time.

Maybe even me…am I still on my quest for the illusive light? I don’t know. And that’s a good thing.

Illusions from Bill Nye

Alanis Morissette–Precious Illusions

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “On a Quest for the Illusive Light”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    We are all in a trance. I believe that. It is incredibly hard work to awaken, although it can happen in an instant. How is that for paradox?
    Choose, as your guide, someone who is an expert in awakening.
    Re: questions— wasn’t it Rilke who told us to learn to love and live in the questions? Easy for him to talk!! Love and light — Deborah


Leave a Reply

