Knit One, Purl One

This evening I began a new mindfulness practice. Actually, it’s not new to me. I’ve been doing it since my teen years. It’s knitting.

I finally decided now that the evenings are dark, cold and gray, I need something to replace long walks in the park. Instead, I’m letting my fingers do the walking. I haven’t knit a sweater in quite a few years, but as soon as I cast on the stitches, I quickly discovered that it’s like riding a bike. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

sweater-beginning

Who’s the lucky recipient? Anthony, of course, and then a friend of mine overseas will be the proud owner of the next one. The yarn is from a great online company, Knitpicks. Thanks, Doris, for the recommendation!

The needles make an elegant dance along with the yarn…over, under, in and out, much like music, or ballet, or…right now I dare not take my eyes off of my work, but before I know it, it will be like breathing, and I won’t need to look at every stitch.

I’m going to work on breathing and knitting as a meditation, in place of walking!

Knit One…I have arrived.

Purl One…I am home.

or…(you get the picture).

Use your imagination now. What hobby of yours can now become a mindful practice? Or, maybe it already is! There’s a thought…

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

