It will pass.

img_2650

I love this Zen story:

A student went to his meditation teacher and said, “My meditation is horrible! I feel so distracted, or my legs ache, or I’m constantly falling asleep. It’s just horrible!”

“It will pass,” the teacher said matter-of-factly.

A week later, the student came back to his teacher. “My meditation is wonderful! I feel so aware, so peaceful, so alive! It’s just wonderful!’

“It will pass,” the teacher replied matter-of-factly.

I had a very strange experience on Wednesday.  It was cold and windy, and after about twenty minutes, my face began to feel weird.  I mean weird. Some of you know that I have three titanium plates in my face, which held things together after my surgery in december, until the bone healed (we believe it did this time!).  Anyway, I had a distinct feeling that there was something going on with them, so I called one of my choir members who has quite the knowledge base in science, and we discussed the thermodynamic conductivity of titanium, and did ascertain that it is possible for me to have “short circuited” sensations in my face, due to the variance in conductivity between titanium and bone.  He also brought to my attention that there is a difference between the expansion and contraction rates of bone and titanium, so it is feasible, especially as close to the surface of my skin these plates are, that I could have some strange sensations if my face is subjected to sudden temperature changes.

It will pass.

Amazingly enough, as Anthony and I took a walk in the cold this evening, I noticed no strange sensation at all.  It was as if just through the notion that it was OK for me to accept these sensations as now part of my typical experience, they disappeared…

…so the question is…could you be able now to step outside of that unfamiliar experience, and without assigning it meaning, or giving it a label, just see it for what it is now…and then as you step back in, notice that it somehow fades into the background, where it is not possible for you to perceive it…

By the way, that friend of mine brought something else to my attention: that the vast majority of our brain is quite plastic, and is not “hard wired” for anything!  Therefore, the biggest chunk of human experience is the result of learning…and if you can learn something, you can learn something else, now can’t you…and what kind of new learnings can you take away from this amazing revelation?

And know now, that whatever you are experiencing right now, it will pass.

Allerseelen (Strauss)–Leontyne Price

Translation

Be well, and at peace,

Phil



Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

