Like a Child

oak-leaves

Today, as I was walking some children to the playground for recess, one boy cried out, “Oh look, Mr. Adams–a leaf is falling down from the tree!”  I stood there in amazement as we watched this solitary leaf, as if it were frozen in time, falling silently to the ground.  Then it seemed that children all around me were noticing leaves, and picking them up.

Those plain brown oak leaves would have seemed boring to me in my younger days.  I always preferred the clear yellow maple leaves in the front yard back home.  And yet, one little girl picked up a leaf, and as if it had cast a spell on her, began to wave it in the air, and dance.  Perhaps she became a leaf! Proving her oneness with this object in her hand, she boldly declared, “I like leaves!”  I even more boldly declared, “I LOVE leaves!”

If you need someone to wake you up, spend time with a child.  You will begin to see all sorts of things that you had not noticed up until now.

Jesus said, that unless we become as children, we cannot enter the Kingdom of Heaven.  Maybe what he was saying was, unless we wake up, we will not see the Divine Light that already exists in us and all around us!

What do you think of that? I think I’ll go jump in a pile of leaves!

Cast Your Fate to the Wind

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Like a Child”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    Amen, brother. Knowing that you are teaching children gives me hope for this weary world. For one of my “be awake and dance” tunes try


Leave a Reply

