Arrived…Home.

Once a month, at Blue Heron Sangha, for our dharma activity we practice a moving meditation.

About a month ago, we did a guided walking meditation while instructed by a recording of a student of Thich Nhat Hanh.

It’s quite simple.

As you step with the left foot, breathe in.

As you step with the right foot, breathe out.

Breathing in. Breathing out.

On the left, “I have arrived.”

On the right, “I am at home.”

You can practice this meditation anywhere that you are walking, although it is perhaps best to do on a slow walk.

Two times now, it has happened automatically for me. You might wonder when!

During the communion procession on Sunday morning.

It is typically not a very fast procession. Often times I am near the end of the procession.

A few weeks ago, I found my gaze going slowly down to my feet, and my breath “stepping into place.”

What does it mean to “arrive at home” in Eucharist?

When you receive the Body of Christ, and say “amen,” what are you saying amen to? Are you recognizing the divine light that is at the heart of you? Are you acknowledging that you are Christ to the world? Are you aware that all of us are connected together, as One, as Christ’s Body?

Are you ready now to be what you are?

Not long ago, Rubin said this to me:

“Life presents a peculiar problem – to become who you are.”

Breathe today! I have arrived! I am at home! AMEN!

Amen–Otis Redding

Be well, and at peace,

Phil


Explore posts in the same categories: Buddhism, Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Arrived…Home.”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    Thanks for that song. Otis rules. I once knew a man in Syracuse who had a PhD in anthropology, who said he would tear it up, if he could only sing like Otis. Amen.


Leave a Reply

