Yes, Virginia, there is a…

More from our friend Virginia Satir. I found this quote today:

“I am Me. In all the world, there is no one else exactly like me. Everything that comes out of me is authentically mine, because I alone chose it — I own everything about me: my body, my feelings, my mouth, my voice, all my actions, whether they be to others or myself. I own my fantasies, my dreams, my hopes, my fears. I own my triumphs and successes, all my failures and mistakes. Because I own all of me, I can become intimately acquainted with me. By so doing, I can love me and be friendly with all my parts. I know there are aspects about myself that puzzle me, and other aspects that I do not know — but as long as I am friendly and loving to myself, I can courageously and hopefully look for solutions to the puzzles and ways to find out more about me. However I look and sound, whatever I say and do, and whatever I think and feel at a given moment in time is authentically me. If later some parts of how I looked, sounded, thought, and felt turn out to be unfitting, I can discard that which is unfitting, keep the rest, and invent something new for that which I discarded. I can see, hear, feel, think, say, and do. I have the tools to survive, to be close to others, to be productive, and to make sense and order out of the world of people and things outside of me. I own me, and therefore, I can engineer me. I am me, and I am Okay.”

How rich!

I am still working on being friendly with all my parts, but there are signs of improvement here and there. I will not share the details, but only say that life is very good today!

It is easy to see the presuppositions of NLP in this wonderful quote.

  1. The ability to change the process by which we experience reality is more often valuable than changing the content of our experience of reality.
  2. The meaning of the communication is the response you get.
  3. All distinctions human beings are able to make concerning our environment and our behavior can be usefully represented through the visual, auditory, kinesthetic, olfactory, and gustatory senses.
  4. The resources individuals need in order to effect a change are already within them.
  5. The map is not the territory.
  6. The positive worth of the individual is held constant, while the value and appropriateness of internal and/or external behavior is questioned.
  7. There is a positive intention motivating every behavior, and a context in which every behavior has value.
  8. Feedback vs. Failure – All results and behaviors are achievements, whether they are desired outcomes for a given task/context, or not.

That’s a lot of food for thought, isn’t it?

Be well, and at peace.

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Yes, Virginia, there is a…”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    When I taught The Art of Positive Parenting, we had that Satir quote on a poster and we hung it in each classroom. Teaching parenting classes is at least 50% teaching people to re-parent themselves, to treat themselves with respect and dignity, as well as their children. If you have not read Satir’s classic, “Your Child’s Self Esteem” — get it. It’s a classic and still wonderful today. Thanks, Strange Bird!


Leave a Reply

