The Perfect…

…how would you complete the phrase?

Let’s consider some options.

moment

day

flower (antique rose, especially)

storm (a la Sebastian Junger)

pie crust (my sister has allegedly achieved it; I have not)

chocolate cake (I have come close, I think, maybe once or twice in my life)

dinner

job (I love mine, but it is far from perfect)

situation

religion (hah!)

bite (my orthodontist is trying to achieve it, and I don’t think my physiology is interested in cooperating)

cure for bruxism

I’m tired of going on right now, but feel free to continue the list in your own mind.

I am so reminded these days of the illusion of perfection. Once upon a time I would seek to achieve the perfect performance in music, and I’m so glad that I have let that goal go.  Nowadays, I just enjoy making the music! Some of you have been following the continuing saga in my life of finding a cure for Phil’s bruxism, or “giving brux a boot in the patootie.”  Guess what I’ve discovered?  It was a lot like what I discovered in my quest for a sleep-filled night: there was no perfect cure, only a journey which led me to the sleep itself! And, in some ways, getting there was much more than half the fun! Oh, the things I learned about life, trying to solve that problem.  Did you realize, by the way, that you cannot make yourself go to sleep?  It’s true.  The best trick I found was to pretend that I was asleep. It worked every time!  Even that trick by itself would not have been enough, though, and I would not have gotten to it without all the work I did before hand.  Some nights I grind and clench more than others, and some nights I barely do it at all.  Can we accept that perfection is not necessary?  And can you be content now in just being OK?  It is OK to be OK, after all…and lots of people in the world are perfectly happy being imperfect!

So, Elle Woods, I hate to break the news to ya, but from where I’m standing there’s really no…

Perfect Day!

Would you settle for a really OK day?  Of course you would.

Think about all of the happiness in your world.  I cannot tell you how many children brought so much joy into my imperfect world today, one after another.  My warrior poses in yoga tonight were far from perfect. Yoga will tear down that illusion very quickly! My feet rarely want to cooperate without protesting by cramping up.  And it was in that moment that I found out that it was perfectly all right.

Let’s love our imperfect moments.

Be well, and at peace,

Phil


Explore posts in the same categories: Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Perfect…”

  1. Deborah Ling Says:

    In the words of Leonard Cohen:

    “Ring the bells that still can ring.
    Forget your perfect offering.

    There is a crack in everything.
    That’s how the light gets in, that’s how the light gets in, that’s how the light gets in.

    LET THE LIGHT IN. WE CANNOT DO IT BY OURSELVES. PEACE EVERYONE —– XEBORAH MORGANA


Leave a Reply

