Kinesthetic Acuity in Huber Heights

Some of you know that I have been working on eliminating bruxism from my repertoire of habits.

How do you get rid of a habit?

Retrain your mind/body to do something different.

Here’s the first thing that I did:

At the recommendation of Joseph Kao of NLP Connections, I bought a lovely little contraption called the MotivAider. I wear it ’round the clock, and currently it reminds my whole being to relax my jaw and facial muscles every fifteen minutes (ooh, it just went off as I was writing that.  How cool!).  It arrived on Wednesday afternoon, and by Wednesday evening, my body was doing the work all on its own without involving any conscious process.  Neat, huh?

You can think of a multitude of uses for this lovely little glorified egg timer!  What new habit would you like to program into your neurology?  Just imagine…

The second thing that I did was to drive for an hour and fifteen minutes (one way!) to suburban Dayton, Ohio (Huber Heights) and visit an amazing man.  His name is Dick, and he came very highly recommended by Rubin Battino.

It was a surreal experience.  I rang the doorbell of the small brick ranch home, and waited.  The man who answered was perhaps not what I was expecting (I will omit his physical description and allow your mind to wander and wonder now).  As I shook his hand and stated the obvious, he said no words of greeting, but ushered me into a small, cluttered room where French popular music sung by some chanteuse was playing on a stereo.  The walls were lined with pictures, and shelves holding books.  Come to think of it, I couldn’t tell you a thing about any of them if you asked, which means that I must have been someplace else while I was there!

Dick set out to work on me immediately, Asking pertinent questions here and there, and thinking out loud as his hands explored my head.  Pressing here and there, poking in places I had no idea a massage therapist could poke in, and applying pressure when needed, waiting, and then asking, “is that tender now, or just pressure?”  After about the fifth time that he did that, I was so gone that I could barely say the word “good.” I didn’t realize that a few pokes in the head could do that, but I guess if you know all the right places, it works that way. Dick made sure to teach me a TMJ treatment that I can give myself as often as I need it, but especially at bedtime (if you live in central Ohio, and wish to learn it, please ask.  I am happy to oblige!).

I will keep you all posted on how things progress.  And, to let you know that I have a sense of humor about all of this, the following video (for adult audiences only!):

Alvin and the Chipmunks–Bump N Grind

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, music, wellness

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

