On the Shoulders of Giants

“We are like dwarfs sitting on the shoulders of giants. We see more, and things that are more distant, than they did, not because our sight is superior or because we are taller than they, but because they raise us up, and by their great stature add to ours.”

(John of Salisbury, 1159)

Who are the people who have gone before us, who allow us to see what we see?  Can you thank them now?

I would like to thank a couple.

Mildred.  I have your old sewing rocker in my bedroom, and every time I really look at it, I think of you.  I have never forgot your kindness.  You helped save my life.

Scott.  I will never forget your courage, strength and tenacity.  I would like to thank you for the gift of allowing me to be present when you slipped away.

There are many more.  Let’s remember them this weekend.

We ring the bells of mindfulness for you today, in gratitude for the path you walked before us.

Vierne–Carillon de Westminster

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, music, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

