Tend Your Vineyard

Look at today’s readings.

Readings, October 5th, 2008

When I sang the psalm today from the ambo, it made me think of Christ’s message to Francis at San Damiano.

Francis, my church is in ruins. Go, rebuild my house.

Silly Francis. He thought that Christ meant the literal stones and mortar (he must have been in a trance–but when Christ on a crucifix begins to speak to you, I guess you listen, no matter what state you’re in!).

The message still echoes around us.

The Challenge of the San Damiano Cross

And what is torn down in your life now? What stones do you see at your feet at this moment in your life? And how do you find your hand reaching for that first stone, and picking it up now…

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, religion, spirituality

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Tend Your Vineyard”

  1. sharon Says:

    Interesting post, thank you for sharing. I was just browsing your other posts as well, and I enjoy your writing. keep up the good work, and I will be back for more.


Leave a Reply

