Who do you say that I am?

This morning has been a time of mystery and discovery.

Readings: 21st Sunday in Ordinary Time, Year A

First of all, many thanks to my priest. Some of this will be from him, through the filter of my experience.

Who do we say we are? My friend Deborah says that in group workshops, she often uses the “I am” game, in which one person turns to the one on their right and asks, “who are you?” The person who is asked the question gives a very short answer, one word if possible, and then in turn does the same thing to the person to their right. The game continues around the circle as many times as seems useful. Deborah says that the transformation that takes place by listening and responding in turn is fascinating.

In a couple of days, Michael Kimball will be asking a lot of questions about who I am, in preparation for posting on his blog. I will keep you posted as this amazing man attempts to encapsulate my life in words that will fit in a space the size of a postcard!

Our priest just spent time with his family at a reunion in the Colorado Rockies (oh how wonderful!), and they played a game based on the book Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoires by Writers Famous and Obscure (hey, I could fit in with that group!). Each of them wrote a six-word memoire of their life, and then everyone had to guess who each one belonged to. Now that sounds like a really fun game! I think that I may try to get ahold of that book, too.

I would like to challenge every person who reads this to leave a six-word memoire in my comments. I will be the first. Go check now!

Can we really know the mystery of another person? NLP presupposes that The map is not the territory. All that we can really know is how we experience the other person. Spend a little time with that…

Or perhaps we can change our definition of the word knowing. Sometimes I feel frustrated at the inadequacies of the English language, which only allows us one word to understand a myriad of states of being. Simon recognized (became aware of, knew, understood that, or however you wish to express it) that Jesus was the Christ. Jesus told him that this revelation of the Divine came to him not through flesh and blood, but as a mystery of the heart. The result was a transformation. Simon becomes “Rock” (Peter).

Our awareness of Divine through Mystery brings about transformation. And on the basis of that transformation, community is built (“on this rock I will build my church”).

Amazing.

Where are you acknowledging Divine today? The Collect for today’s mass spoke deeply to me:

“Lord our God, all truth is from you, and you alone bring oneness of heart. Give your people the joy of hearing your word in every sound and of longing for your presence more than for life itself. May all the attractions of a changing world serve only to bring us the peace of your kingdom which this world does not give. Grant this through Christ our Lord.”

In what sounds around you are you experiencing the Divine right now…

…allowing that presence to bring about the oneness of heart.

What amazing changes are taking place now all around you, and in you, bringing about peace…

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, spirituality

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Who do you say that I am?”

  1. pcadams Says:

    I am one really strange bird!

    Phil


Leave a Reply

