All May Be Fed

Yesterday was the Solemnity of the Assumption. We had mass at my parish at 6:00 p.m. Our priest was away, so we had a visiting priest. As happens on odd days when things aren’t done as usual, details sometimes become overlooked. The priest came to the fraction rite, and discovered that there might not be enough consecrated host for everyone present. He began breaking. And breaking. And breaking, as we all held our breath, wondering what would happen.

As I was standing in the choir loft, thinking about what might happen next, and wondering if I should go downstairs to receive holy communion, he interrupted the ritual and briefly explained the situation apologetically to the people, instructing them to process beginning with the back of the church so that the eucharistic ministers could more accurately assess the situation as it unfolded. What exactly they were going to do was beyond my comprehension. I did what I normally do in times of crisis–cued the organist, gave the downbeat and sang. And as I did, I felt my heart open up and the true eucharistic miracle did take place. Suddenly, in that moment, I realized that all would be fed, and that I could trust that in my heart. And I did. And we were.

When I finished leading the assembly in the communion hymn (a setting of the Magnificat, which was also found in the day’s gospel reading), I joined the communion procession, and as I received the Body and Precious Blood, I realized what a miracle was taking place…one that went far beyond the multiplying of loaves and fishes.

All may be fed.

This morning, the miracle continues in our kitchen. What’s for breakfast? Buckwheat cakes!

I’ve made them so many times, I could do it with one spatula tied behind my back.

1/2 C. Buckwheat Flour

1/2 C. Whole Wheat Flour

1 t. Baking Powder

1/2 t. Baking Soda

1/2 t. Salt

1/2 t. Cinnamon

1 C. Buttermilk

1 T. Oil

1 Large Egg

Blend dry ingredients; set aside. Beat buttermilk, egg and oil together. Add to dry ingredients and mix together until just incorporated. Fry in skillet. Serve hot with favorite fruit, toppings or syrup.

Do you want to become a better anything? Practice flipping pancakes. You must flow to flip a cake. There is no other way.

If you’re an Archwired person, this is great orthodontic/orthognathic-friendly food. If you are watching your blood sugar, this is also a wonderful breakfast option, as buckwheat is less glycemic than wheat.

Be well, be filled, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Cooking, creative stuff, Life, religion, spirituality

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “All May Be Fed”

  1. buddingrose4u Says:

    Interesting recipe – just slightly different from mine. I’ll have to give it a try.


  2. […] amazing difference in flavor that one ingredient made.  Even though it was my standard recipe for buckwheat cakes, it tasted like something completely new with that addition of lovely sweet orange […]


Leave a Reply

