Set it aside…

Have you ever had a time in your life when it seemed that you were receiving the same message from more than one place?

I did. Today. From three places! Or persons, I should say.

We’ve all probably known a person who has said, “I just feel like the whole world is out to get me.” When you step back for a minute, and look at that situation, as those words are coming from that person’s mouth, and falling on your ears, what do you see them projecting? How does it make you feel?

Have you ever felt that way yourself? I have. Maybe you feel that way right now, even as you are reading this blog entry.

I would like to challenge you to some radical thinking. For just a minute, would you be willing to set that belief aside? Or, for that matter, set aside any belief that you know is preventing you from being who you really want to be. If you’re worried about what might happen to you when you do set it aside, just tell yourself that it will still be sitting on that shelf, waiting for you when you’re done with this exercise.

OK. Now just set that belief aside for a minute. If you prefer, pretend or imagine that it is not part of your identity right now. Now, be aware of yourself. What changes do you notice in how you are feeling towards yourself? Towards others?

I know it seems to simple to be true, but it works. Some of you know that for quite a while after my surgery, I had difficulty with sleeping. Do you know what worked? One night, I decided to lay in bed, pretending that I was sound asleep. Guess what happened? In no time, my mind caught up with the rest of my body, and I was sound asleep. Quickly, even! Rubin Battino refers to this as the “as if” phenomenon. For one night, I set aside the belief that I couldn’t sleep. That night was the beginning of amazing changes, many of which were much more astounding than achieving a good night’s sleep.

Ready to let that belief stay on the shelf now? And for this moment in time, can you look into the future, and see the change that has resulted over the minutes or hours or days or…years, since you have let that limiting belief go?

Things look bright, don’t they?

As my friend Carl’s tee-shirt says, “Life is good.” And it is (Carl, I’m snappin’ a picture of you next time we’re in the park together, so be forewarned!).

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, spirituality

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Set it aside…”

  1. Charnita Says:

    Hi! Phil,
    I found your bog amazing! It is beautiful the way in which you express your thoughts in an easy-effective manner.
    As I read your post I could feel it working..right there in the very moment..

    thanks:)

    [Got your blog address from your comment on Jamie’s video.]


Leave a Reply

