How do I get there?

Have you ever stopped to think about what happens in your brain when you start thinking about going somewhere that you’ve never been, or at least somehwere that you haven’t visited in a long time, or in a very different way?

I don’t remember the last time I was in Clay City, and I don’t think that when I came into Clay City the last time it was on highway 59, like we did this time.  I’m pretty sure that it was on highway 246.  Nothing looked familiar to me at all, except for that one intersection of 59 and 46, even though I’d never crossed that intersection from the north.  I don’t think.  Or did I?

It didn’t seem to matter to me how many times Doris and Ray would say the same thing, over and over and over…”you just stay on the main road, and you’ll have a bend here and a bend there, and before you’ll know it, our house will be about the seventh house on the left.”  Well, that seemed to make no sense to my brain at all!  I tried hard to make that picture over and over.  Every time I did, it just became fuzzy!

Of course, once we arrived, everything was clear!  But the only map required was my nose, guiding me to homebaked pizza, and custard and mince pie (I know, isn’t it strange to have mince pie in August, but I like it just the same) and Biltmore wine from the cellar.  And then a little TV, and quiet conversation, slowly shifting to gentle music and a roomful of readers (all four of us!) and since I slept on the couch, it was such a simple matter of slipping from reading awake to going asleep…

And now it’s Monday morning, and I’m wide awake, getting ready to make coffee in the kitchen.  I love being the first person awake in any house, and today is no exception.  Before I know it, I’ll have that familiar smell of morning brew coming from the coffee maker, and a bowl of my favorite cereal (isn’t Doris a dear!).  And I’ll just let you guess what that might be!

Yesterday, on the drive in, we listened to Peter Paul and Mary sing, “are you more amazed at how things change, or how they stay the same…” or something like that.  And I answered, “yes.”

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: creative stuff, Life, spirituality, travel

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

