More Than We Bargain For

I never expected that I would be writing about my car on this blog…again.

A funny thing happened at the mechanic’s yesterday morning. I pulled into the lot (after having gotten a jump at home), and went inside to check in. They told me that it wouldn’t be long before they’d have it on the lift to check the electrical system. I went off to the waiting area, absorbed in a great book (actually, it was Jill Bolte Taylor’s My Stroke of Insight), and listening to some music on my iPod. It wasn’t long until I noticed some strange behavior from the manager, as he threw a glance my way every so often. Finally, my curiosity got the best of me, and I asked him how things were going with my car. He explained that they had it on the lift and were checking out the electrical system (it did end up being the battery). Then the twist. Evidently, While out in the lot, a tow truck clipped my driver’s side view mirror, and smashed it. So, the manager agreed to have it replaced at their expense. The interesting thing was that the new mirror was so much better than the old one, with an interior adjuster, giving me more flexibility in being able to see safely as I drove. It was also interesting to me, by the way, the realization of how much I relied on that mirror when I had no mirror for a few hours yesterday. What an odd experience, constantly looking in the place where it had been and having it not be there (but that’s another story, isn’t it?).

Many of the regular posters at Archwired well know that I had a similar situation on a much more profound scale over the last year. When we discovered that my orthognathic surgery from last June went awry, I thought that my world was caving in. I was not prepared for what would take place in my mind following the repeat surgery in December. What happened following that has been nothing short of a miracle, and the result is now that I perceive the world to be a very different place. The situation that at one time I framed as tragic, became the initial catalyst to transform my ability to perceive the world in a much more flexible way, to enjoy life more fully, and have a greater sense of purpose.

Was my mirror changed? Oh, yes. Does the new one give me more options? You better believe it! Would I trade in my experience for another one? Not on your life.

Be well, and at peace,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, spirituality

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

