It all started with a plate…

Not long ago, I was going through a rough patch, and in sore need of a drastic change of direction. Someone suggested to me “start with just a small change…even with how you brush your teeth in the morning–start on the side opposite you normally do. Just see what happens…”

Well, I did. Among other things. And a few months later, I can step back and see that something did happen as a result of that small change.

Not long ago, I was talking with a chum on nlpconnections about the very same topic. I told him how that sometimes profound learning came to me through mundane tasks, like putting the dishes away, or folding laundry. In fact, I used sort of an Ericksonian-style metaphor in my post–here it is. Well, what do you think happened? I must have induced myself, because last night, as I was putting away the dishes before bed (I often like to do those sorts of tasks at that time of day, just to release a little energy, and calm my mind with the repetitiveness of the task), I noticed that I started to put some of the bowls in a different place than I normally do. Then a plate. Then a saucer. Oh, my goodness–chaos to my orderly mind! Then I stopped for just a moment with a smile inside (and perhaps outside) and began to realize what happened!

This morning, as I was going through my morning routine, I turned on the hot water, preparing for my shower. Normally I shave first. After the water was on, I suddenly realized what I had done, stood there for a minute, and reflected. Then said to myself, “I’m going in–the water’s fine!”

I wonder what’s coming next…

Remember, change is easy. It’s all in how you do it.

When I was in grad school, a violinist friend of mine said, “you know, I can play any piece I want to. I just have to slow it down a bit.” Thanks, Jana!

So, go out and make one tiny change today, and see what happens!

Cheers,

Phil

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “It all started with a plate…”

  1. Frederic Says:

    Nice post Phil, look fwd to reading more.

    Enjoy the rudbeckias and the echidnas in the garden, 🙂

    Keep up the great blog.

    Frederic

  2. pcadams Says:

    Thanks, Frederic! I’m getting ready to go commune with the Hemerocallis right now…


Leave a Reply

